Former Rams quarterback Kurt Warner was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday.

Warner was one of six players, plus one executive, elected by a selection committee. The class will be enshrined at the Hall in Canton, Ohio on Aug. 5. Warner had been a finalist each of the last two years but was not selected.

Elected with Warner were kicker Morten Andersen, running back Terrell Davis, safety Kenny Easley, defensive end Jason Taylor, running back LaDainian Tomlinson and Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones.

Former Rams wide receiver Isaac Bruce and former football Cardinals coach Don Coryell failed to receive the necessary number of votes needed for election.
After joining the Rams in 1998, Warner was supposed to the backup to Trent Green, but when Green suffered a season-ending knee injury in a pre-season game the next year, Warner took over and launched one of the greatest rags to riches stories in NFL history.

He had signed as a non-drafted free agent with the Packers out of Northern Iowa, but was released in training camp. He went on to play in the Arena League, and had a part-time job bagging groceries in an Iowa supermarket before signing with the Rams.

Warner led the Rams to the Super Bowl in the first of his two MVP seasons and was named the MVP of Super Bowl XXXIV when he led the Rams over the Tennessee Titans.

He earned his second MVP trophy two years later when he took the Rams back to the Super Bowl, where they lost to the New England Patriots.
Warner also led the Arizona Cardinals to their first Super Bowl appearance after the 2008 season. He made the Pro Bowl four times during his career.
Warner becomes the fourth member of the St. Louis Rams in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, joining Marshall Faulk, Orlando Pace and Aeneas Williams.


  (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),

  ga('create', 'UA-38442918-1', 'auto');
  ga('send', 'pageview');